No rhyme, just reason

    

 Charley and the Survivor Tree

I’ve stood on grounds where I felt it was going to swallow me whole. Often times, I get overwhelmed and found myself walking away, saving my efforts for the easier struggle.

Not this time. Not on this ground.

This was my second time at ground zero but my first with my family at the 9/11 Memorial.  No rhyme can make our presence there one of pleasure.  Our reason for being there was earnest; we came to pay our respects and pray.  And at the South Pool,  in front of the “ENGINE 22” engraving, we did.

In my life, I carry on not in spite of the bad but because of what is still good.  I believe the 9/11 Memorial is symbolic of that. I pray that whatever measure of peace I found for myself being there, may also find the families and friends that lost their loved ones on September 11.

God Bless.

Leave a Reply

